Disaffected Spanish Teenagers from the 1950’s Singing Pange Lingua

One of those philosophical commonplaces I detest is that the “God of the Philosophers” (where “the Philosophers” is taken to include Anselm, Thomas Aquinas and others) is an inadequate object of worship. Heidegger has a famous remark to this effect.

In response, I point out that Thomas wrote hymns and Heidegger did not.

By the concinnity of providence, I have come across a video of disaffected Spanish teenagers from the 1950’s singing Thomas’s Corpus Christi hymn Pange Lingua in Latin on YouTube.

Go on . . . you know you want to see it.

2 Responses to Disaffected Spanish Teenagers from the 1950’s Singing Pange Lingua

  1. freder1ck says:

    I expected the teens to light up cigarettes between verses.

    “God of the philosophers” comes from Pascal who contrasts it with the “God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.” I’m reminded of Anselm’s question: is it better for something to exist in the mind only, or in the mind AND in reality.

  2. scholasticus says:

    Cigarettes and Latin hymnody . . . reminds me of writing my Master’s Thesis.

    I dig Pascal, but I didn’t cite him above because it isn’t clear to me that Pascal means to impugn the great scholastic masters with his “God of the Philosophers” remark. It seems at least plausible to me that the more immediate targets of his criticism are Descartes and Spinoza, both of whose deities might indeed be unworthy objects of worship.

    I suppose, for that matter, that I’m not positive Heidegger himself actually targets the schoolmen in this respect too. I know some avant-garde post-modern protestant theologians who would like to use Heidegger in this way, but perhaps Heidegger has Kant and Hegel in mind rather than the Scholastics. I suspect not, but who knows.

Leave a Reply

